Scripting HelpersARCHIVE
A little piece of Roblox history. Preserved for everyone, one question at a time.Read about the archive →
✓ ANSWER ACCEPTED

When you have a public game do they see peaks of the next update?

When your making changes to the lobby and you couldnt finish for the day you esit out of Roblox studio and press save changes. The next morning when you didnt finish the update do players see the things you saved?

2 answers

✓ Accepted answer

Hey there, Nifemiplayz

Saving your changes will show to all players that play your game if the game is public. I like to leave my games on private until they are done, that way I don't have to worry about it. But if your game is already released and you want to save your updates without publishing them, I recommend doing File > Save As to save the file of the update to your computer. You can then open that up the next day and continue working. All of the new changes will be stored on your computer but not in the actual game. When you open it back up the next day, keep in mind that it will create a new place with all of the same stuff. In order to publish it back to the original game, you must go to File > Publish To Roblox As and then at the bottom left corner of the new window select Update existing game and then select the game you wish to update. Once you've done that, you can delete the save file from your computer. You don't have to delete the save file but if you plan on going back to the original place you were editing then just delete it.

Edit: Hey, if my explanation was unhelpful I found an official post from Roblox related to this topic:

https://en.help.roblox.com/hc/en-us/articles/203313890-How-to-Publish-Upload-a-Place

If you publish your game, people in new servers will see it. If you just leave Studio open without publishing it, your players will not see it. If you want to publish your changes without anyone seeing it, you can publish to a secondary test map.

In the future, please use Scripting Helpers for scripting questions rather than general Roblox Studio questions. If you have questions like these and want help, you may find the Scripting Helpers Discord beneficial.

5 comments

0

I went over saving to local files and publishing local files back up to the public below. I also linked an official post from Roblox on this topic.

0

You can also use the button "Save to Roblox", it will save the update to the same game, but not publish it.

0

That works, too. I tend to work on updates to my games on separate Roblox places, but that's just my personal preference.

0

Im sorry vanilla your answer was good to but he has negative reputation :(

0

Lmao thanks man, I used this account a while ago and I was young. Apparently people did not like be back then. I appreciate you for accepting my answer :)

This discussion is preserved as it was. New answers, comments, and votes are closed.